We about us

As a communal real estate company, Vereinigte Bonner Wohnungsbau AG, VEBOWAG for short, has been ensuring since the year one that there is affordable housing space available in Bonn. In the course of the demographic change, the energy-efficient building of barrier-free accessible flats is currently one of our core activities.

At present, we have about 6,300 own flats available, over three quarters of which are subject to rent control and occupancy commitment. Being the largest housing company on the real estate market of Bonn, we offer modern housing space at fair prices.

It is important to us to make a substantial contribution to ensure that our tenants feel comfortable in their environment. Our social commitment is multifaceted; we bring initiatives and events in the neighbourhood into being and support our tenants with a variety of counselling offers.

Figures and facts

Key figures of VEBOWAG at a glance

  2014
Balance sheet total (in T€) 291,325
Fixed assets (in T€) 258,795
Equity (in T€) 72,958
Equity ratio (in %) 25.0
Sales revenue (in T€) 41,317
Net income (in T€) 2,027
Company-owned flats 6,204
Managed flats of third parties 95
Managed owner-occupied flats 318
Non-residential units 69
Garages/car spaces 1,600
Other units 415
Living and usable space in m² 432,672
Average cold rent per m² in € 5.16

Memberships

showthumb GdW Bundesverband deutscher Wohnungs- und Immobilienunternehmen e.V.
Verbaendelogo-VdWRW_4c Verband der Wohnungs- und Immobilienwirtschaft Rheinland Westfalen e.V.
AG Köln
Arbeitsgemeinschaft Kölner Wohnungsunternehmen e.V.
EBZ-logo Förderverein für die Aus- und Fortbildung im Europäischen Bildungszentrum e.V.
 DESWOS Logo 4c NEU DESWOS
Deutsche Entwicklungshilfe für soziales Wohnungs- und Siedlungswesen e.V.

History

VEBOWAG owes its formation to the high politics. On May 10, 1949, the Parliamentary Council chose Bonn as federal capital. As such, Bonn had to meet completely new demands – and all that against the background of the devastating repercussions of World War II: everywhere in the still young Federal Republic of Germany there was housing shortage.

In the building sector, particularly in residential construction, the city had to face a big challenge – this is what made the foundation of a municipal housing association obvious.

It was Bonn craftsmen who wanted to participate in the building boom for ministries and embassies after Bonn had been chosen federal capital.. Consequently they founded the „Gemeinnützige Bonner Wohnungsaktiengesellschaft, GEBOWAG for short, on April 18, 1950. At that time, the city of Bonn took a 55 per cent share in the new association that was intended to provide mainly low-income population groups with high-quality yet affordable living space. For more than two decades, GEBOWAG has been standing the test as an instrument of municipal residential construction.

With the administrative district reforms, Beuel and Bad Godesberg were suburbanised to the city of Bonn and their housing companies were merged into Vereinigte Bonner Wohnungsbau Aktiengesellschaft, VEBOWAG for short, in 1970.

To this day, VEBOWAG has been continuously expanding its housing stock – especially through building publicly funded flats. At present, the city of Bonn is the main shareholder of the company with a share of 93 per cent.

Wir über uns

Als kommunales Immobilienunternehmen sorgt die Vereinigte Bonner Wohnungsbau AG, kurz VEBOWAG, seit jeher dafür, dass es in Bonn bezahlbaren Wohnraum gibt. Im Zuge des demografischen Wandels ist derzeit der energieeffiziente Neubau von barrierefreien Wohnungen einer unserer Aufgabenschwerpunkte.

Aktuell verfügen wir über rund 6.300 eigene Wohnungen, von denen mehr als drei Viertel Mietpreis- bzw. Belegungsbindungen unterliegen. Als größtes Wohnungsunternehmen auf dem Bonner Immobilienmarkt bieten wir zeitgemäßen Wohnraum zu fairen Preisen an.

Damit sich unsere Mieter in ihrem Umfeld wohlfühlen, ist es uns wichtig, hierzu einen wesentlichen Beitrag zu leisten. Wir engagieren uns auf vielfältige Weise sozial, rufen Initiativen und Veranstaltungen in der Nachbarschaft ins Leben und stehen unseren Mietern mit zahlreichen Beratungsangeboten zur Seite.

Zahlen und Fakten

Kennzahlen der VEBOWAG auf einen Blick

 201820172016 20152014
Bilanzsumme (in Tsd. €)309.903297.226293.222289.674291.325
Anlagevermögen (in Tsd. €)284.534269.711265.577263.169258.795
Eigenkapital (in Tsd. €)83.54580.11477.39675.03772.958
Eigenkapitalquote (in %)27,027,026,425,925,1
Umsatzerlöse (in Tsd. €)45.53644.58344.40941.48841.317
Jahresüberschuss (in Tsd. €)3.4312.7172.3602.0792.027
Eigene Wohnungen6.3226.3116.3086.2806.204
Verwaltete Wohnungen Dritter095959595
Verwaltete Eigentumswohnungen949494112318
Gewerbliche Einheiten8467696969
Garagen / Stellplätze1.7831.7001.6741.6431.600
Sonstige Einheiten279279413415415
Wohn- und Nutzfläche in m²446.026 439.145439.006437.371432.672
Durchschnittskaltmiete pro m² in €5,625,475,355,215,16

Mitgliedschaften

showthumb
GdW Bundesverband deutscher Wohnungs- und Immobilienunternehmen e.V.
Verbaendelogo-VdWRW_4c
Verband der Wohnungs- und Immobilienwirtschaft Rheinland Westfalen e.V.
Logo AdW
Arbeitsgemeinschaft der Wohnungsunternehmen  Bonn/Rhein-Sieg
AG Köln

Arbeitsgemeinschaft Kölner Wohnungsunternehmen e.V.
EBZ-logo
Förderverein für die Aus- und Fortbildung im Europäischen Bildungszentrum e.V.
 
DESWOS Logo 4c NEU
DESWOS
Deutsche Entwicklungshilfe für soziales Wohnungs- und Siedlungswesen e.V.

Historie

Ihre Entstehung verdankt die VEBOWAG der hohen Politik. Am 10. Mai 1949 wählte der Parlamentarische Rat Bonn zur Bundeshauptstadt. Als solche musste Bonn ganz neuen Anforderungen gerecht werden – und das vor dem Hintergrund der verheerenden Auswirkungen des Zweiten Weltkrieges: Überall in der noch jungen Bundesrepublik Deutschland herrschte Wohnungsnot.

Im Bausektor, insbesondere im Wohnungsbau stand man vor einer großen Herausforderung – die Gründung einer städtischen Wohnungsbaugesellschaft lag nahe.

Es waren die Bonner Handwerker, die nach der Hauptstadternennung am Bauboom für Ministerien und Botschaften teilhaben wollten und daher am 18. April 1950 die Gemeinnützige Bonner Wohnungsaktiengesellschaft, kurz GEBOWAG, ins Leben riefen. Damals übernahm die Stadt Bonn einen Anteil von 55 Prozent an der neuen Gesellschaft, die vornehmlich die einkommensschwachen Bevölkerungsgruppen mit hochwertigem und zugleich bezahlbarem Wohnraum versorgen sollte. Zwei Jahrzehnte lang bewährte sich die GEBOWAG als Instrument des städtischen Wohnungsbaus.

Mit den Kreisgebietsreformen wurden Beuel und Bad Godesberg nach Bonn eingemeindet und deren Wohnungsunternehmen im Jahr 1970 zur Vereinigte Bonner Wohnungsbau Aktiengesellschaft, kurz VEBOWAG, zusammengeschlossen.

Bis heute erweitert die VEBOWAG kontinuierlich ihren Wohnungsbestand – insbesondere durch den Bau von öffentlich geförderten Wohnungen. Aktuell ist die Stadt Bonn mit 93 Prozent Hauptaktionär des Unternehmens.